Spend £10 for free UK shipping

0
Your Basket

There is nothing in your basket.

News

Sophisticated Summer Reads

Posted 1st Aug 2018

‘Subtle, astute… Zeidner joins the ranks of Doris Lessing, Margaret Atwood and Fay Weldon’ – NYTBR

‘A wicked send up of contemporary life’ – Publishers Weekly

‘A sharp and wryly moving portrait of a woman in the midst of a breakdown’ – Kirkus Reviews

Claire Newbold is not your typical heroine. Smart and sexy, yes, but she’s also been known to sneak into a hotel room or two without paying, seduce a teenager in wet bathing trunks, and just check out of things altogether – like her job. And her marriage.

Layover is a razor sharp piece of fiction and to celebrate our publication of this fresh and funny book (soon to be a major film!) we’ve gathered together some more sophisticated summer reads from Pushkin for you to take to the beach.

Shortlisted for the Man Booker International Prize, Mirror, Shoulder, Signal  is the spikily funny and startlingly perceptive novel from Dorthe Nors. Following the thoroughly modern heroine Sonja as she learns to drive, and telling the oft untold story of the middle-aged, single woman, we urge you to read this delightful novel by a thoroughly talented author. If you’re already a fan of Dorthe Nors, why not check out her breathtaking collection of short stories, Karate Chop?

Olivia Sudjic’s engrossing tale of obsession was one of the most exciting literary debuts of 2017 and if you haven’t already, now is the time to discover the electrifying book behind the buzz. Sympathy is the perfect beach read for fans of Brett Easton Ellis, Emma Cline and Donna Tartt and was dubbed ‘The Talented Mr Ripley for the 21st century’ by VICE.

Praised by everyone from Ursula K. Le Guin to Joshua Ferris, The Beautiful Bureaucrat  is Helen Phillips’s sublime and chilling page-turner of a novel. Part modern fairytale, part existentialist thriller, it’s a breathtaking joyride of a novel that asks the biggest questions about marriage and fidelity, birth and death. If you love this, we also publish Helen’s brilliant collection of short stories, Some Possible Solutions, described by Station Eleven  author Emily St John Mandel as ‘Fascinating, unsettling and beautifully written.’

All of these titles are available to buy from our online shop.